Three Songs about Jesus, Our Shepherd

Since the arrival of my church’s new pastor last week, I’ve been thinking a lot about pastors and especially their role as “under-shepherd” (a term which I just discovered is not actually in the Bible, but I’ve heard it used of pastors a bazillion times). That train of thought lead me to thinking about Jesus as our Shepherd. So for the first part of this week, I’d like to write about Jesus as our Great Shepherd, and then at the end of the week, I’ll write about our pastors as shepherds and our responses as sheep.

“Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us” text attributed to Dorothy Ann Thrupp

I greatly dislike the tune to this song, but I appreciate the message of the words.

Savior, like a shepherd lead us, much we need Thy tender care;
In Thy pleasant pastures feed us, for our use Thy folds prepare.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Thou hast bought us, Thine we are.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Thou hast bought us, Thine we are.

We are Thine, do Thou befriend us, be the guardian of our way;
Keep Thy flock, from sin defend us, seek us when we go astray.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Hear, O hear us when we pray.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Hear, O hear us when we pray.

Thou hast promised to receive us, poor and sinful though we be;
Thou hast mercy to relieve us, grace to cleanse and power to free.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Let us early turn to Thee.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Let us early turn to Thee.

Early let us seek Thy favor, early let us do Thy will;
Blessed Lord and only Savior, with Thy love our bosoms fill.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Thou hast loved us, love us still.
Blessed Jesus, blessed Jesus! Thou hast loved us, love us still.

All the Way My Savior Leads Me

This is one of my favorite songs. Here is the text by Fanny Crosby with additional lyrics by Chris Tomlin. I know the song doesn’t specifically refer to Jesus as a Shepherd, but the idea is there.

All the way my Savior leads me;
Who have I to ask beside?
How could I doubt His tender mercy,
Who through life has been my guide?

All the way my Savior leads me;
Cheers each winding path I tread,
Gives me grace for every trial,
Feeds me with the living Bread.

You lead me and keep me from falling.
You carry me close to Your heart.
And surely Your goodness and
Mercy will follow me.

All the way my Savior leads me;
O, the fullness of His love!
O, the sureness of His promise
In the triumph of His blood!

And when my spirit clothed immortal
Wings its flight to realms of day,
This my song through endless ages:
Jesus led me all the way!
Jesus led me all the way!

All the way my Savior leads me.
All the way my Savior leads me.

Jesus, Shepherd of the Sheep

I found a page scan with this hymn text while researching songs about our Shepherd, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

